Are we to face temptation alone?

1 Pe 5:9 Resist him, firm in your faith, knowing that the same kinds of suffering are being experienced by your brotherhood throughout the world.

Do you ever feel like you’re fighting the good fight, but you’re doing it all by yourself and there’s nobody else out there on the same team? You’ve heard it said that misery loves company. Though it is a worldly euphemism, I think it’s true for many that comfort and strength can be drawn from knowing you are not alone in your struggles. Jesus faced temptations (Lk 4), too. Aside from Christ, none of the prophets or disciples was perfect. They all struggled and most of them had it pretty bad. Whatever you are struggling with today, abide in the company of the Lord (Jn 15:5) and you will find help (Ps 121) when you ask (Jn 15:7).

This post is an excerpt from my book Ask James one.

About Lance Ponder

Christian author of "Ask James one"; public speaker; husband and father. Available to speak on Creation and the Gospel.
This entry was posted in James and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Are we to face temptation alone?

  1. Todd Beal says:

    Lance, this has never bothered me, and until this post I never thought about it. I always figured it was no one’s fight but my own. I’m thankful that you brought this up because it lets me know that other Christians struggle with this.  I’ll be on the lookout from now on, lending a shoulder of support wherever I see the need.

    Regarding the togetherness/fellowship issue; what really weighs me down is the fact that most people wouldn’t accept truth if it walked up and thumped them on the forehead, “Christians” included; many times, they being the most guilty! Before Truth Behind Reality existed, I grew so distraught trying to share my content with others that I called my grandfather for advice. I thought that surely he must have encountered resistance to truth in his 50+ years as a pastor. Sure enough, I called him and here is what he said; “God is not going to reward us for the results we get but for our faithfulness to him. I preached the truth as God laid it on my heart and left the rest up to them.” This is what I needed to hear and finally understand. I felt a lot of tension dissolve while a few wet ones blurred my vision.  I said, “Thanks Grandpa, that’s what I needed to hear. I love you.” He said, “I love you too, Todd”. Then we said goodbye. I instantly felt relieved of my need to force truth down someone’s throat.  It is my responsibility, and privilege, to facilitate truth, but the responsibility of receiving it rests squarely on the shoulders of others.

    Which brings my thoughts back to you, Lance: I would like to see you get real serious about writing a commentary(s) on overlooked or seemingly “overworked” scripture passages.  Number one, too much scripture is overlooked these days – your posts on Habakkuk being a prime example – and number two, too many publications (blogs or otherwise) consist of overdone scripture commentary; they contain relatively little substance with negligible originality.  The content is nothing but recycled thought passed down from generation to generation, drowning in a sea of religious buzzwords, and leaves me starving for hard-hitting truth.  Not that the scripture itself is overworked – God forbid – but that the surface-oriented, re-regurgitated, generational “pass me down” content within these commentaries/religious publications is beaten to death and contains no spiritual nutrition; not even the choir grows from this stuff.  It is nothing but religious rhetoric!  No wonder people shy away from Christianity; we give them no reason not to!

    Very rarely do I read something of a religious nature and grow as a result.  Your explanations of the scripture just happen to be the exception, and that is why I continually return.  Besides, your style is refreshingly original.

  2. Lance Ponder says:

    My skull hurts – my head is too big already. LOL. I really do appreciate the support. What your grandfather told you is an ingot of solid gold wisdom. I read sometime a quote by Charles Spurgeon that spoke essentially the same message. He was always amazed that anyone would listen to him and all the more that God would move on those who listened to convert and save them. I am sure Ezekiel felt much the same, though based on what Ezekiel wrote he had far fewer converts – lol.

Leave a Reply

