Should we fear Satan?

2 Tim 4:18 The Lord will rescue me from every evil deed and bring me safely into his heavenly kingdom. To him be the glory forever and ever. Amen.

It is worth noting that the rescue might be more like Stephen’s case where you are “rescued” to Heaven (Acts 7:54-60) rather than Peter’s escape from prison (Acts 12:1-17). Either way, God makes provisions according to His will. We aren’t taught to fear Satan, but to resist him. “Resist” implies defensive fighting rather than offensive, but it is still fighting. We are only told to fear God (Pr 1:7). Fear him because he can not only kill you, he can toss you into hell (Lk 12:4-5).

The short answer to this question is: No.

This post is an excerpt (Question 2.16) from my book Ask James one.

About Lance Ponder

Christian author of "Ask James one"; public speaker; husband and father. Available to speak on Creation and the Gospel.
This entry was posted in James and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Should we fear Satan?

  1. I agree with you, but I am afraid that our culture today teaches people not to fear Satan because they don’t believe he exists. They believe in right and truth as far as they interpret the truth and there are no evil consequences for eternity. How scary.

    • Lance Ponder says:

      Did you hear our illustrious president’s eulogy in Tucson? He was in rare form. He said a few things I’ve never heard him say before – and in spite of how I feel about him I do listen closely to what he says. He said he believes evil is real. Frankly I doubted he held such a belief. I know someone else writes his speeches, but for him to actually say what he said amazes me. I suppose evil can be just as relative as good, but still…

  2. New1e13_15 says:

    I would say the opposite of the last commentor- with the wide spread of the occult and the fascination with vampires and evil in general I would say our culture may trivialize fear of satan, but it also unfortunately instills and glorifies it

Leave a Reply

