Kingdom Connection – David and Jesus

There are many connections between David and Jesus. A question that came up in discussing one of the recent posts in the Jesus=God? series had to do with the prophetic nature of David as an Old Testament representative of Christ. The original question came up as a result of my interpretation of Ez 37:24. I saw that passage as a prophecy of Christ and was asked to explain how that was possible. I understand that elsewhere in Jeremiah and Ezekiel there are references to the “seat of David” being occupied by later human kings, however there are specific prophecies about a coming king that only make sense if that king is the Christ. Here’s a few supporting passages that come to mind…

Jer 33:15 In those days and at that time I will cause a righteous Branch to spring up for David, and he shall execute justice and righteousness in the land.

Jer 23:5 Behold, the days are coming, declares the LORD, when I will raise up for David a righteous Branch, and he shall reign as king and deal wisely, and shall execute justice and righteousness in the land.

Jer 30:9 But they shall serve the LORD their God and David their king, whom I will raise up for them.

Is 22:22 And I will place on his shoulder the key of the house of David. He shall open, and none shall shut; and he shall shut, and none shall open.

Ez 34:23-24 And I will set up over them one shepherd, my servant David, and he shall feed them: he shall feed them and be their shepherd. And I, the LORD, will be their God, and my servant David shall be prince among them. I am the LORD; I have spoken.

Ez 37:24-27 My servant David shall be king over them, and they shall all have one shepherd. They shall walk in my rules and be careful to obey my statutes.25 They shall dwell in the land that I gave to my servant Jacob, where your fathers lived. They and their children and their children’s children shall dwell there forever, and David my servant shall be their prince forever.26 I will make a covenant of peace with them. It shall be an everlasting covenant with them. And I will set them in their land and multiply them, and will set my sanctuary in their midst forevermore.27 My dwelling place shall be with them, and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

Read Hosea 3. Its a short chapter. It tells of a time when Israel will be restored and David will (future tense) be king in the latter days. If you’re not familiar with Hosea, read the first three chapters for context. Hosea’s wife represents fallen Israel specifically and fallen (unfaithful) humanity generally who will be restored.

Zech 12 speaks at some length of a coming house of David. Zech speaks very prophetically of Jesus.

David is specifically mentioned in both genealogies of Jesus in the NT, though they differ in routes from David to Jesus.

Jesus is identified as “son of David.” Mt 9:27, 12:23, 15:22, 20:30, 21:9, Mk 10:47, Lk 18:38, Jn 7:42

Jesus associated with coming kingdom of David. Mk 11:10

Jesus identified by David as Lord. Mt 22:42-45, Lk 20:41-44, Acts 2:34

Paul preaches of Jesus fulfilling Davidic prophecy in Acts 13.

John speaks of Jesus’ relationship with David: Rev 3:7, 5:5, 22:16.

About Lance Ponder

Christian author of "Ask James one"; public speaker; husband and father. Available to speak on Creation and the Gospel.
This entry was posted in Faith Matters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kingdom Connection – David and Jesus

  1. Simon says:

    I did this study in my Biblical studies not too long ago amazing how it all fits togeter

  2. Todd Beal says:

    Lance,

    I read through your scripture listing, and most do not directly reference David as future king. They speak of Jesus as sitting on David’s throne, etc, but do not reference Jesus as David.

    The passages that do mention David as future king include Jeremiah 30:9, Ezekiel 34:23-24, Ezekiel 37:24-27, and Hosea 3:5. These scriptures specifically say that David will someday be king over Israel. However, Bible prophecy is full of statements declaring Jesus as future king on earth. I am having trouble reconciling the fact that David did once rule, and is also declared future ruler (king), with the fact that Jesus is also declared future king. These scriptures do not declare that Jesus is David, but that David will rule Israel. If Jesus is in fact symbolically David, then it would be an awkward moment when Jesus takes position on his earthly throne, being called David, with David the person standing right there in his presence.

    These scriptures certainly set us up with a firm foundation but they don’t provide the explicit link between David and Jesus. Can you think of any scriptures that will allow us to go further with this?

  3. Lance Ponder says:

    We are western thinkers trying to grasp oriental thought. I’m convinced that not all that gets translated to English makes it in tact. As much as I prefer a “word for word” translation, sometimes it just doesn’t come across right. I think this is probably the case here, at least generally. First of all, remember that the OT prophets were looking for a king to come. The greatest king in their past was David. He was the great victorious warrior king who united all the tribes. Saul failed and Solomon presided over an already united kingdom taking it from victory into decadence. There was an expectation of one coming who would reunite the whole kingdom (Ez 37:15-28). Hey, guess what, that’s also one of the David/Jesus prophetic passages. Hm.

    Here’s something else to cogitate on while you’re thinking this over… Several chapters of the book of Hebrews speak of Jesus as a sort of Melchizedek. He was high priest of Salem (later Jerusalem) back in Abraham’s day (see Gen 14). Ps 110 (a Psalm of David, btw) speaks prophetically of the Christ (YHWH said to my Adonai…) and in 110:4 says he will be “after the order of Melchizedek” (ESV). Jesus is of course both high priest (order of Melchizedek) and king (seat of David). Just as Jesus is spoken of as a sort of Melchizedek he is spoken of as a sort of David. Think about it, brother. You’ll see it. ~_*

    • Todd Beal says:

      Lance,

      | The greatest king in their past was David. He was the great victorious warrior king who united all the tribes. Saul failed and Solomon presided over an already united kingdom taking it from victory into decadence. There was an expectation of one coming who would reunite the whole kingdom (Ez 37:15-28). Hey, guess what, that’s also one of the David/Jesus prophetic passages. Hm. |

      What a breakthrough! I had not made that connection.

      | Jesus is spoken of as a sort of Melchizedek he is spoken of as a sort of David. |

      Again, Jackpot! That’s the evidence I was looking for.

      Thanks for always engaging me Lance. I really do appreciate your fellowship. It is rare that I truly enjoy someone’s personal company, and when life gives me that pleasure, I place that friendship in my personal life chest of valuables. You are a worthy opponent, friend, and confidante.

Leave a Reply

