Believer’s Joy

Hab 3:17-18 Though the fig tree should not blossom, nor fruit be on the vines, the produce of the olive fail and the fields yield no food, the flock be cut off from the fold and there be no herd in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord; I will take joy in the God of my salvation.

Habakkuk took the position of being determined to remain steadfastly faithful to the Lord in spite of the way the world was falling apart around him. James wrote that we are to have joy in the Lord in spite of trials and tribulations surrounding us (Jas 1:2-3). Faith in God is required. Faith can be most clearly seen in times of adversity. Persecution is not an experience to take pleasure in, but joy of heart, derived from the presence of the Lord as the Holy Spirit fills the believer, transcends the worst torture to the flesh.

About Lance Ponder

Christian author of "Ask James one"; public speaker; husband and father. Available to speak on Creation and the Gospel.
This entry was posted in Habukkuk Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Believer’s Joy

  1. Bee says:

    Amen! Especially appropriate for today and in the coming days!

  2. Todd Beal says:

    Well said, Lance. That makes sense. Once again, I have not heard Christian suffering explained this way. Thanks.

    • Lance Ponder says:

      I wrestled quite a while with those opening verses of James 1 and the role of trials and suffering in the faith life of the believer. I’ve come to appreciate the value of suffering both academically and in my own life. I’ve not suffered much, I’m something of a wimp really, but I see so much suffering around me and I know so many who have endured much and their faith is stronger for it. I do not want to suffer, but I want genuine Godly faith more than I want to avoid suffering and so I – with appropriate fear and trembling – submit to God’s will in this regard.

Leave a Reply

