How much wisdom can we get?

1 Ki 4:29 “And God gave Solomon wisdom and understanding beyond measure, and breadth of mind like the sand on the seashore.” This verse illustrates what is available. The passage in context goes on at length to describe a few areas of Solomon’s expanded wisdom, but suffice it to say God is God and he can give as much as he sees fit when and to whom he sees fit.

We know there are various ways to acquire wisdom. Since we know there’s plenty to be had, ask yourself: how much wisdom do you need? Consider Solomon’s life. He enjoyed a great gift from God. Still, in his later years his flesh got in the way of his wisdom when he took hundreds of women as wives and concubines and such. He drifted further and further from the Lord as he accepted their false idols. He was morose and depressed and his writings expressed these sentiments.

As for me, I seek to know what the Lord wants me to know. I seek discernment. I seek to know and to understand His will to the degree possible. With it I seek to share what I receive and to give Him the glory for it. The free gift which is most valuable of all is the gift of eternal life and that comes by faith, not wisdom. Wisdom comes from God to those with faith, not the other way around (Jas 1:6-7).

This post is an excerpt (Question 5.4) from my book Ask James one.

About Lance Ponder

Christian author of "Ask James one"; public speaker; husband and father. Available to speak on Creation and the Gospel.
This entry was posted in James. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How much wisdom can we get?

  1. maria bensigar G L says:

    I will get wisdom from my God.

  2. I’ve said for years that the older I get, the more I think I have to learn. Some things that were gray areas when I was younger are more black and white now, and, interestingly, vice-versa. Lately I feel that I’m still at the beginning of the beginning of..you get the idea..of learning real wisdom about God..He has had a lot of my own baloney (bologna?) to cut away/through..we’re still working on that. : )
    blessings brother
    jim(mish)

    • Lance Ponder says:

      Jim, as always it is a pleasure to hear from you.

      One of the most important things for me to learn was that I could accept the authenticity and accuracy of scripture. Once I learned I could really trust it, I began to be able to seek out answers as I learned to ask the right kinds of questions and to trust the answers found in scripture – even when I didn’t really like those answers.

      Another important lesson I learned was to drop the judgmentalism toward those of other flavors of faith because it wasn’t my favorite flavor. As a kid I hated veggies and a lot of other foods I wasn’t used to. My diet today is much healthier and more varied. There is one faith, but many “religions” and James said it best when he said the only good religion is to care for widows and orphans. Through blogging I’ve become close to folks of several religious backgrounds within the broad realm of Christianity (and some beyond), such as Messianics, Mormons, Orthodox, Catholics, and a broad array of Protestants. Diverse thought on subjects like free will/predestination, Calvin/Arminius, trinity, creation, and a host of others have served as opportunities to learn and grow. While my own positions do not always change, they are better informed and more easily defended through those exchanges – and yes, sometimes radically altered. Hold fast to your faith and don’t be afraid to engage and confront notions that do not (at least on the surface) seem to match your own.

      Finally, take it out of the virtual world and apply it to everyday life. If it doesn’t help you hold onto Jesus when the world is pulling at you, it isn’t worth your time.

Leave a Reply

