Admit

Part 1 of: Admit – Submit – Commit – Transmit

The first step to rebirth into spiritual life is, as a carnal being, to admit you are you and God is God. You cannot obtain eternal life and the hopes it comes with, let alone the peace in your soul available in this life, by your own means.

A synonym for admit is confess.

Lk 9:18-20 Now it happened that as he was praying alone, the disciples were with him. And he asked them, “Who do the crowds say that I am?” And they answered, “John the Baptist. But others say, Elijah, and others, that one of the prophets of old has risen.” Then he said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” And Peter answered, “The Christ of God.” The word Christ literally means anointed. The Greek word is translated from the Hebrew term messiah. This is one of the first clear and obvious example of Jesus confronting a follower, requiring them to admit directly and clearly the true identity and purpose of Jesus. It is the starting point for all of us. Jesus was the one anointed by God for the sole and specific purpose of redeeming sins. It required a spotless sacrifice, which Jesus provided once and for always on the cross.

1 Jn 2:23 No one who denies the Son has the Father. Whoever confesses the Son has the Father also. Confession is not merely the admission of the position of Jesus – the Son of God and Messiah. It is a required step toward our salvation. It is how we stretch out to receive the free flow of blood from our Lord’s wounds to cover our iniquity. God is holy, we are called to holiness, and we cannot come before nor come into the presence of the Father while we are stained with sin. The stain of Jesus blood covers the stains of sin, miraculously making us white with absolute purity. If we do not admit who Jesus is we deny him, thus we do not have forgiveness and cannot enter the presence of God.

Lev 26:40-42 “But if they confess their iniquity and the iniquity of their fathers in their treachery that they committed against me, and also in walking contrary to me, so that I walked contrary to them and brought them into the land of their enemies—if then their uncircumcised heart is humbled and they make amends for their iniquity, then I will remember my covenant with Jacob, and I will remember my covenant with Isaac and my covenant with Abraham, and I will remember the land. To say idle words, obeying the letter of Ro 10:9-10 without obeying its meaning as described here, is pointless. Mt 7:21 “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. – This is the New Testament passage which explains why muttering words, no matter how correctly stated, isn’t good enough. It explains why speaking, an act in itself, doesn’t save. It must be a heart driven act, an act of true faith, for it to be acceptable. Such an act when committed in true faith, admitting the Lordship of Jesus and living in faith makes the words true, real, and weighty with redemptive meaning.

I Admit…
I am human, imperfect and carnal as anyone reading this document. Without the redeeming blood of Jesus I am as hopeless as all you wretched, helpless creatures reading. With the redeeming blood I am no better – only forgiven. The blood is my only hope. Faith, however slight, is the only tool at my disposal making it even remotely possible to receive even a drop of that blood. I am powerless and hopeless without the gift of forgiveness from the anointed one, Jesus Christ.

Moses and later Jesus say the greatest commandments are to love God and love one another. When our hearts are right, when we put our faith in our Lord, we will be unable to do otherwise. Love is a verb, and to show our love one thing we do (one of the first things) is follow Lev 26:40-42 and confess our iniquities and make amends.

I have broken every commandment:

1. I have put myself at the head of my temple, idolizing my own greatness. I rather enjoy being called “professor.” It is merely a nickname. I have no knowledge but what I’m given, so who am I to take credit for it? I enjoy the words of praise my readers and personal friends provide as if I’d come up with any blessing for them of my own power. It is all the property of God. Lance has nothing to offer. I am but a pot. Anything of value is placed in the pot by the Master.

2. I take photographs. I possess trophies. There are pictures of dead U.S. Presidents in my pockets.

3. I have cursed others, damning them in God’s holy name. Though I have not done this recently, I have done this.

4. I work for money and I buy and sell on the Sabbath Day. Not only am I not resting from work, but working extra.

5. I not only disobeyed my parents, dishonoring them in my disobedience, but also by other actions against God and other people which would reflect badly on them and the hard work they had raising me. My parents passed away years ago, but whether they live or not my actions past and present reflect on their good names.

6. In my heart and mind I’ve wished another human dead. There’s been more than one instance, I’m sure. To wish it in the heart is equal to taking the action. Though I don’t think I’m capable of the act, because of my thoughts I am a murderer.

7. Any time I put something or someone ahead of my own dear wife I commit adultery. When I put my job first or my own hobbies, that’s as much adultery as if I’d slept with another woman. The fact I’m married for a second time while my first wife lives makes me a biblical adulterer. I have experienced sex while unmarried – another sexual impurity I think God would place in the same category. My mind has its dark corners, corners which are ugly when exposed to the light, but they exist. I don’t think I need to be explicit for you to understand I’m as sinful here as anywhere.

8. While I’m not a kleptomaniac by civil standards, I’m not off the hook for theft. I have brought a pad of sticky notes home from the office without permission. That’s pretty lame, you might think, but it’s only the most recent of my pilfering.

9. I lie. Sometimes I don’t mean to, other times I do. When I make mistakes I don’t admit them and like a fool I will resort to fibbing or silence rather than being fully truthful. This is a personal struggle for me and one of the hardest and most frequent of my failings.

10. I want to say I don’t covet, but to do so would be a lie (see #9). For example, when I see others with cell phones, I want one. When I see a hot sports car, I wish it were mine. I don’t need to be bombarded with TV ads and prime time sleaze to find plenty to covet.

I have no hope without the free gift of salvation, a gift I can never earn. I can never make up for my sin. I cannot atone. Only Jesus’ blood can do that. He did what I cannot do. I believe him when he said he did it for me. He calls me to change, to belong to him and submit and confess his name. Jesus, You are Lord. You are the Messiah, Anointed by God for the purpose of the Salvation of our souls. To believe you, to trust you, means to act in love in all facets of life. It means not only serving you in obedience with the right heart attitude, it means serving others as though serving you, as you yourself served others when you were among man as man. Forgive me, Lord. Lead me according to your righteousness and not my own. Wake me, take me, forgive me, cleanse me, and lead me according to the path you alone have set for me. Amen.

I first realized who Jesus was when I was 11. I knew I wanted to have the hope expressed by another boy my age when he stood up and explained what Jesus meant to him, how he was different, and how he had hope. I didn’t understand it, but I felt the pull. I knew in my own childlike way that God was God and I was not, that I had no hope in my own power, and so I decided then to put my trust in the Lord. I’ve made many mistakes, made efforts to walk away from him since. It is beyond my understand He would pursue me, welcoming me back when I returned in humility, and that He still seeks me when I flagrantly disobey him even today. To face this reality – to be seen by the perfect light of Love and to even imagine I’m forgiven: I am thrown to the floor, face down, in abject humility.

Your Admission…
Do you believe Jesus is the Christ? Do you trust Him with your eternal soul, or do you think you can lay hold of eternity by your own power? Confession is the first step. It is the first step in the right direction. If you are reading this and you don’t know what I mean, if you have questions or want direction, I don’t have the answers. But I know who does. I know how to put you in contact. I can show you how to begin. It starts with realizing who you are in relation to who God is, admitting your inability to save yourself, but accepting that Jesus can wash away all that sin and restore your hope, renewing your soul by giving birth to a new spiritual hope and new life under management of the Holy Spirit.

Next week we go to step 2: Submit.

About Lance Ponder

Christian author of "Ask James one"; public speaker; husband and father. Available to speak on Creation and the Gospel.
This entry was posted in Faith Matters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

