Freedom – Skit

The following is a skit I wrote a while back. I call it “Freedom”. It can be performed by any kind of ensemble with only a few male/female specific roles. Actors can be any age group, but perfect for teens or teen/adult mix. Anyone out there reading this who would like to perform it at their church is welcome. I’d really like to hear how it goes if you do.

Freedom

 

This skit requires 13 characters, but if needed you could omit Anger and you could combine Alcohol and Drugs into one to bring the cast down to 11. Anyone can be either sex except Everyman (male), Jesus (male), and Lust (female). The demons could be in normal clothes or theme colored tee shirts. Jesus should be dressed different from the others, ideally in white sweats. Jesus should be an adult male or at least appear to have the most authority. Condemnation should give the impression of the worst kind of sleazy TV preacher or gossipy old church lady. Everyman’s shirt, tie, and jacket should be on a stool or similar downstage at start for him to put on as he speaks at beginning. As the group encircle Everyman they give the appearance of making him a captive, however the group must be loose enough so the audience can see him throughout.

 

EVERYMAN:    Enters from SL in jeans and a white tee shirt. To the audience: THANKS MOM AND DAD FOR THE GOOD ADVICE. Puts on white button down shirt. I’M SURE I’LL MAKE GOOD DECISIONS AND MAKE YOU PROUD. Puts on tie and suit jacket. I’LL WORK HARD AND STAY MARRIED AND BE A GOOD PARENT JUST LIKE YOU. Then stands around smiling, ad lib miming business.

ENVY:              Enters from SR and addresses audience. I’M ENVY. THE GRASS IS ALWAYS GREENER ON MY SIDE OF THE FENCE. Envy takes place beside Everyman. He looks at Envy briefly, then with some distraction returns to smiles/work.

GREED:            Enters same as Envy. HI, I’M GREED. I FOLLOW MY BROTHER (or SISTER) ENVY AROUND BECAUSE ONCE YOU WANT, YOU ALWAYS WANT MORE (wink). I’D LIKE TO INTRODUCE OUR COUSIN, LUST. ISN’T SHE JUST TO DIE FOR? Takes place beside Envy as Lust walks on.

LUST:               Everyman gets more distracted, does double-take on Lust enters. Tries not to ogle but keeps looking over at her. To audience: I KNOW YOU WANT ME. To Everyman: YOU WOULD DO JUST ABOUT ANYTHING TO MAKE ME HAPPY, WOULDN’T YOU DARLING? Takes her place beside Greed. Everyman can’t take his eyes off of her. They start to form a semicircle around Everyman.

BITTERNESS:    MY NAME IS BITTERNESS. I CONSOLE YOU WHEN YOU DON’T GET EVERYTHING YOU WANT. I’M SURE MY BEST FRIEND, ANGER, WILL BE ALONG SHORTLY TO JOIN US. Everyman agitated now; mimics each new evil spirit as they encircle him.

ANGER:            I’M ANGRY AND I’M NOT GOING TO TAKE IT ANYMORE.

MURDER:        MURDER’S THE NAME, GETTING EVEN IS THE GAME. OH, DON’T WORRY, I DON’T HAVE TO LITERALLY KILL ANYONE, I’M CONTENT TO FANTASIZE ABOUT ELIMINATING THOSE WHO BOTHER YOU… LIKE YOUR EX-WIFE, YOUR GIRLFRIEND’S UNBORN BABY THAT’S GOING TO SCREW UP YOUR LIFE, THAT JERK WHO GOT YOUR PROMOTION. YOU KNOW, THEM.

DEPRESSION:   IT’S ALL MY FAULT. I’M NO GOOD. I HANG OUT WITH BITTERNESS, ANGER, MURDER, LUST. I’M DEPRESSION. I’D LIKE TO KILL MYSELF, BUT MAYBE YOU CAN HELP ME. MAYBE NOT. I’M NEVER ALONE. I’D LIKE TO INTRODUCE MY FRIENDS. Two more enter. They each wave to acknowledge their names as Depression introduces them. THIS IS ALCOHOL. HE’LL NUMB THE PAIN. THIS IS DRUGS. HE’LL MAKE YOU FORGET FOR A WHILE.

CONDEMN.:    Dressed up with a bling cross; very accusingly to Everyman: YOU’RE NO GOOD. I’M HERE TO CONDEMN YOU. I’M PRETTY GOOD AT IT TOO. THAT’S WHY THEY CALL ME CONDEMNATION. YOU’RE FAMILY SENT ME. YOUR CHURCH SENT ME. AS A MATTER OF FACT, THE WHOLE WORLD SENT ME. I’M HERE TO EXPLAIN HOW YOU WENT WRONG. I’M HERE TO POINT OUT EVERY MISTAKE AND TELL YOU WHY YOU’RE NOT GOOD ENOUGH. I’M HERE TO TELL YOU WHY YOU CAN’T BE SAVED. YOU’LL NEVER BE GOOD ENOUGH…

EVERYMAN:    NO! (screams it as he falls to his knees). I CAN’T DO IT MYSELF. I CAN’T SAVE MYSELF. I’M A WRETCHED SOUL, LOST, AT THE BOTTOM. WHY DID I LET IT COME TO THIS. CAN’T I BE FORGIVEN? MY PARENTS WEREN’T PERFECT, BUT THEY TOLD ME JESUS FORGIVES. THEY SAID HE DOESN’T CONDEMN. IF THAT’S TRUE, THEN JESUS FORGIVE ME. HELP ME. PLEASE!

JESUS:              Sound of rushing wind. A very determined figure enters. To the evil he says: BACK OFF, THIS ONE IS MINE. The demons all back away, but not too far. Gently:  COME TO ME, SON. Everyman comes slowly and kneels at Jesus’ feet.

EVERYMAN:    MY LORD AND MY GOD. The demons one by one slip away as Jesus speaks. Condemnation sticks around until last. Everyman stays at Jesus’ feet through the rest.

JESUS:              To the audience: I COME TO SET THE CAPTIVES FREE. THE EVIL ONE SEEKS TO DEVOUR, BUT NONE IN MY HAND WILL BE LOST. BELIEVE IN ME. I DO NOT BRING CONDEMNATION. THOSE WHO ARE CONDEMNED HAVE CONDEMNED THEMSELVES BECAUSE THEY WON’T BELIEVE. I DIED THE DEATH OF A SINNER THOUGH I WAS SINLESS BECAUSE I LOVE YOU. I CONQUERED DEATH BECAUSE DEATH ONLY HAS POWER WHERE THERE IS SIN. IF I FORGIVE YOUR SIN, YOU WILL LIVE FOREVER IN MY KINGDOM AND YOU WILL NEVER AGAIN KNOW SORROW OR TEARS. I TELL YOU THAT YOU NEED TO TRUST ME AND OBEY ME BECAUSE MY BURDEN OF LOVE IS LIGHT, NOT LIKE THE BURDEN OF SIN AND DEATH YOU CARRIED AROUND BEFORE. CONDEMNATION SPOKE HALF THE TRUTH WHEN HE SAID YOU’LL NEVER BE GOOD ENOUGH. THE FULL TRUTH IS THAT I AM. I SET YOU FREE AND YOU ARE FREE INDEED. NO, YOU ARE STILL IN THE WORLD, BUT YOU ARE NO LONGER OF THE WORLD. THE WORLD IS FULL OF EVIL, BUT IT HAS NO POWER OVER YOU NOW. GO NOW. WALK IN FAITH. LOVE MY CHILDREN. AND KNOW THAT I AM ALWAYS WITH YOU – I WILL NEVER LEAVE YOU OR FORSAKE YOU NO MATTER WHAT LIES THE WORLD TELLS YOU.

About Lance Ponder

Christian author of "Ask James one"; public speaker; husband and father. Available to speak on Creation and the Gospel.
This entry was posted in Faith Matters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

